Skip to main content

Databases: A-Z

Databases at the Law Library

The law library provides free access to a variety of online legal resources. Due to licensing restrictions, many of these databases can only be accessed within the library.

DATABASES 

DESCRIPTION

ACCESS   

BarBooks Publications by the Oregon State Bar covering a variety of legal topics. Books include summaries and explanations, legal citations, forms, jury instructions, and more. In-library only; Access from a public computer
Bloomberg Law Comprehensive legal database including state and federal case law, statutes, regulations, dockets, and secondary sources.  Secondary sources cover a wide variety of practice areas including banking and finance, bankruptcy, corporate law, employee benefits, health law, intellectual property, labor and employment, securities, and tax. In-library only
Fastcase Legal database including case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and attorney general opinions. Free state-wide access provided by the State of Oregon Law Library. To use the database, you must first register for a free account. Learn More In-library & off-site access
HeinOnline Full-text access to law journals, federal statutes and regulations, legislative history materials, government documents, and more. In-library only
Legal Information Reference Center Find hundreds of Nolo self-help books on a variety legal topics including landlord-tenant law, estate administration, divorce, and more. Free state-wide access provided by the State of Oregon Law Library.  Login by entering your two letter state abbreviation as your patron ID and your county of residence as your password. In-library & off-site access
Legal Source Indexes law reviews and journals from 1908 to the present. Many articles are available in full-text.    In-library & off-site access
Lexis Advance Comprehensive legal database with state and federal case law, statutes, and regulations. Also includes secondary sources such as law journals, encyclopedias, treatises, and Shepard's citator. In-library only
National Consumer Law Center Access consumer law treatises, sample pleadings, primary sources, and practice tools. In-library only
Practicing Law Institute (PLI) Contains treatises, course handbooks, forms, course transcripts and more.  Practice areas include corporate and securities, litigation, intellectual property, banking, telecommunications, bankruptcy and more. In-library only
Westlaw Comprehensive legal database with state and federal case law, statutes, and regulations. Also includes various secondary sources such as national and state-specific forms, journal articles, encyclopedias, and select treatises. In-library only